Tutorial Correct use of If Statements

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Resources' started by goody599, Jun 23, 2019.

1. goody599

It's been a long time but I had to speak up as I constantly see people having issues and issues with overheads especially in their bots and the exact same issues and same mistakes keep popping up at least from my view and the code snippets they provide.

You might not know me but ive been botting in OSRS for close to 4 years now. I constantly use other peoples bots not only to see how they create "player sense" but I mainly use my own as if you want something done its best you make it yourself and the main computer I run my bots on is to be honest shit, thus as a result any bot I run on it has to be optimized to create the lowest possible overhead.

When to use multiple if statements and when to use if elif else statements. Note this is a code snippet taken from another websites bot and parts have been taken out for other reasons.

When you write code like this:

If (Me.Distance.Other < 5){
    Logout();

}

if (Me.Distance.Other > 5 && Me.Distance.Other < 15 ){

Hover.Logout();
    }

if (Me.Distance.Other > 15 ){

PLayerList.Add("PlayerName");

}

if (PLayerList.Size > 0){
    //Not disclosing my methods ;D

}

Essentially with this structure it goes through every single if statement and we dont actually want that as not only does it create more lines of code that have to read but also it creates that awful overhead that crash's some peoples computers but its just not the correct way to write efficient code and in the real world (if you really like coding ) it just wont be accepted by any code reviews as it is not optimized at all.

A more approiate way to actually reduce these if statements would be something like the following which utilizes the else if type of if statements

if (Me.Distance.Other < 15){
    Hover.Logout();
    PLayerList.Add("PLayerName");
    if (Me.Distance.Other < 5){
    Logout();
    }