Resolved Crash when launching RS3

Discussion in 'Client & Site Support' started by Semirotta, Mar 13, 2015.

  1. Semirotta

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't know why but I get this when I launch RS3
    In the browser (Chrome) it doesn't even get into the game, the page just stays white.

    Windows 7 64-bit
    8 Gig ram

     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #12 by Arbiter, Mar 15, 2015
  3. Infinite Inferno

    Infinite Inferno The Pip Collector

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    120
    Do you have Java 8?
     
  4. Semirotta

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well oh damn I do... Wonder when that came, perhaps the last update did that... Fudge, I swore not to take it XD
     
  5. SlashnHax

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    871
    Java 8 (64bit is recommended if your OS is 64 bit), is required for Runemate. :p
     
  6. Semirotta

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well java 8 it says when I checked but it didn't work even before the java update.
     
  7. SlashnHax

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    871
    Do you have teamviewer? I can TV in and see if I can fix it for you.
     
  8. Semirotta

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes I do have a teamviewer, added you at skype.
     
  9. Cozmo1333

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    14
    Well. I'm getting crushes whenever I start a script bot as well. I'm on windows 8.1 having the last update of java 8
     
  10. Semirotta

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't crash on run, never happened to me. That windows 8 update was pure shit :(
     
  11. defjam

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Semirotta

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
  13. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    DirectX is broken in Java 8u40 I believe. To revert back to Java 8u31 uninstall all your current Java runtimes and install Java SE Runtime Environment 8u31 64bit from http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/java-archive-javase8-2177648.html.

    It requires an Oracle account to download so I have uploaded a mirror for Windows for your convenience: http://www.mediafire.com/download/3jh7r7nqnafm0xn/jre-8u31-windows-x64.exe

    Note: This is an issue with Jagex (who offers DirectX as an option) and Oracle (who broke DirectX), not RuneMate. Alternatively you can load into safe mode by holding the S key when the RuneScape client is opening up and then choose a graphics option that is not DirectX, so OpenGL or Safe Mode.
    --- Double Post Merged, Mar 15, 2015, Original Post Date: Mar 15, 2015 ---
    Related post: https://www.runemate.com/community/threads/is-it-possible-to-use-java-1-7.1676/
     
  14. Semirotta

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have never blamed any of the issues on Runemate. I know it's java, personally if I didn't have to I wouldn't even have java on my computer. It is broken, retarded cancer for computers (note that I did not mean any offense towards mentally- or otherwise challenged persons, just java and the creators of java)
    Almost every update logs I read through on java, there are always either unknown or already known security threats in it. Every month a new topic in computer related news -> java has a hole in it, look out your personal information might be in danger or stolen.
     
  15. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Nah I wasn't implying that you were blaming us. Was just specifying that there isn't much we can do to fix it on our end beyond point users in the right direction. :p
     
    Semirotta likes this.
  16. Cozmo1333

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    14
    I updated it by mistake. and when I tried to cancel it said "do no't close the pc, and gave me an eye. so I couldn't. :'D

    I was on OpenGL from the beginning. Anyway it was fixed! I don't know exactly how but I guess I wasn't on safe mode properly.
     
  17. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Jagex fixed DirectX for RuneScape today. Java 8u40 should be fine again. That's likely why your client started working again @Cozmo1333.
     
    Cozmo1333 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...