If you can't fix 120mm Fan for your liquid cooling in your cases this the aussie way

Discussion in 'Programming & Hardware' started by WYD, Dec 23, 2015.

  1. WYD

    WYD

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    63
  2. Savior

    Savior Espresso Ghetto

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    639
    10/10 engineering skills
     
    Qosmiof2 likes this.
  3. WYD

    WYD

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    63
    The CPU is 1c in 25c Room cos it getting a lot of AIR ♥
     
  4. YubiBotter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    61
    I'm going to take a guess and say AMD FX CPU.
     
  5. Savior

    Savior Espresso Ghetto

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    639
    Thats good, my PC currently stand at a bad position and I have to open my door for it to get fresh air :/
     
  6. WYD

    WYD

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    63
    Hell yes babe 5ghz ♥ running 15 bots ♥
     
  7. YubiBotter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    61
    As I suspected, it's not actually running at 1c.
    FX chips have faulty temperature sensors.
     
    vipertrek79 likes this.
  8. WYD

    WYD

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    63
    That before at 100% now it ruuning at 15c
     
  9. YubiBotter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    61
    Yeah that's still incorrect, thermodynamics will never allow a CPU to run colder than the air that cools it, so by saying your room was 25c I can assure you it's incorrect.
     
  10. WYD

    WYD

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    63
    yes
     
  11. Savior

    Savior Espresso Ghetto

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    639
    I found an AMD FX cpu with 4.7ghz and 8 cores for slightly above $200, how is that price possible in comparison to i7 cpus? there has to be one big disadvantage or nah?
     
  12. YubiBotter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    61
    Iirc that's an FX-9590? It has a couple of disadvantages compared to an i7.
    Namely that they are rated for 220w of TDP, meaning you literally need a liquid cooler for a remote hope for cooling it.
    Not to mention you need a pretty high end motherboard to support it, they're usually only rated for 140w.
     
  13. Savior

    Savior Espresso Ghetto

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    639
    Ah okay I see
     
  14. SlashnHax

    SlashnHax The Chosen One

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,780
    Likes Received:
    733
    Yeah... That's impossible dude, unless you're running some sort of liquid hydrogen/helium setup xD
    Higher TDP, meaning you'll need a higher rated PSU, and maybe a better cooling system.
    Also, one big disadvantage is that AMD CPUs have a much lower IPC than Intel CPUs, which can make a big difference in gaming. Not too sure how much it affects normal, everyday things or botting.
     
  15. YubiBotter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    61
    That particular CPU has a pretty stupid overclock which makes up for the lack of IPC on Piledriver, and tbh from my experience AMD/Intel doesn't really matter in games, the big decisive factor is usually the GPU.
    The only time I've encountered a time where IPC was of utmost importance was for Emulation, things such as Wii or PS2 which are limited by how many cores they can use. Funnily enough some PS2 games are so ridiculously dependent upon Intel that it's almost impossible to run them consistently on Intel, Shadow of the Colossus is one such game.
    Straight from SoTC's wiki:
    • The CPU must be an Intel-brand; not AMD
    • Due to architectural improvements, the CPU should utilize the latest microarchitecture available
    • The clock speed must be over 4.0 GHz (The only Intel CPU with a base clock this high is the i7-4790K. Most other CPUs will need an overclock).
     
  16. 18dragonking

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    AMD CPUs are as hot as my mixtape.
     
  17. YubiBotter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    61
    Hit and miss then ;)
     
  18. WYD

    WYD

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    63
    AMD is god for botting =D
     
  19. vipertrek79

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    74
    AMD is good if you live in the arctic circle, other than that it ain't worth it.
     
  20. WYD

    WYD

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    63
    I'm go to run like 16 bots :) with two AMD FX pc's
     

Share This Page

Loading...