Make it possible to extend API.

Discussion in 'Client & Site Suggestions' started by PinopScripts, Jan 30, 2015.

  1. PinopScripts

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    It would be awesome that every class could not have a final modifier... I want to be able to extend the API so stuff keeps organized and really good.
     
  2. PhaseCoder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    Don'ty understand what you meen? you can have packages etc? unless im totaly missing the point
     
  3. SlashnHax

    SlashnHax The Chosen One

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,788
    Likes Received:
    740
    Wrapper classes get the job done.

    He means extending the API as in creating a class Bank that extends the API's Bank class, allowing him to access the API's Bank methods through his custom class.

    I asked Cloud about it before, and the reasons he had were reasonable so it doesn't really bother me. There are other ways to extend the API that work just as well imo.
     
  4. PinopScripts

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well I would rather just do it directly :p For example I wanna have a custom PredefnedPath, where it treats vertices in a different way, but I still want to be able to use its step method.. That way would be the best if I could just extend it.
     
  5. SlashnHax

    SlashnHax The Chosen One

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,788
    Likes Received:
    740
    If you don't have a destination or you're within a certain distance from the destination then get the next best vertex (using your custom treatment) and click on the MinimapCoordinate corresponding to that vertex's Coordinate :p
     
  6. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,304
    Likes Received:
    735
    I finalize things intentionally, I don't want there to be any confusion about where the method originates from and due to the nature of static methods in java I know confusion would eventually show up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...