Resource [Official] The Bot Manifest (XML)

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Resources' started by Cloud, Aug 1, 2014.

  1. Cloud

    Cloud Just another one...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    795
    Below is an example of the XML-based bot manifest which allows for more customization while reducing bloat within a bot's main class.
    Code (XML):
    1. <manifest>
    2.     <main-class>com.runemate.clouds_woodcutter.CloudsWoodcutter</main-class>
    3.     <name>Cloud's Powerchopper</name>
    4.     <tag-line>Insert catchy tagline here (marketing oriented)</tag-line><!--Max of 50 chars-->
    5.     <description>Power chops all types of logs anywhere in RuneScape. (functionality oriented)</description><!--Max of 110 chars-->
    6.     <version>1.0.2</version>
    7.     <compatibility>
    8.         <game>OSRS</game>
    9.         <game>RS3</game>
    10.         <!--Can be used if you absolutely need to disable DarkScape (highly discouraged)-->
    11.         <!--<disable-game>DARK</disable-game>-->
    12.     </compatibility>
    13.     <categories>
    14.         <category>WOODCUTTING</category>
    15.     </categories>
    16.     <!--Required to publish on the bot store-->
    17.     <internal-id>PowerChopper</internal-id>
    18.     <!--The rest are optional-->
    19.     <open-source>true</open-source>
    20.     <hidden>false</hidden> <!--If you need to hide it from the bot store for maintenance-->
    21.     <access>public</access>
    22.     <tags>
    23.         <tag>Tree</tag>
    24.         <tag>Vine</tag>
    25.     </tags>
    26.     <resources>
    27.         <resource>path/to/file.png</resource>
    28.     </resources>
    29. </manifest>
    The manifest can be included anywhere in your output folder or svn as long as the main class is set correctly. You must specify any resource files (images, sounds, text files, etc) that you wish your code to be able to access in the bot manifest.
     
    #1 Cloud, Aug 1, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 20, 2016
  2. Cloud

    Cloud Just another one...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    795
    The format has been updated slightly to comply with the bot stores revised standards.
     
  3. Zap

    Zap

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are the allowable values for the "access" tag other than "public"?

    What is the difference between "hidden" vs "access"?

    Thanks!
     
  4. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    @Cloud for clarification on options and meanings.
     
  5. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    682
    I believe hidden= true hides it from the bot store, hidden=false shows it on the bot store. access=public means it's open to the public. I'm guesing there's another value probably something like 'private' which would make it a private script bot
     
  6. Cloud

    Cloud Just another one...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    795
    Hidden is in regards to the current visibility on the bot store. If a script bot is hidden, nobody can run it.
    Access technically does have other modifiers but it's too early to discuss that because there's currently no front end for specifying who can use a private script bot (although the backend is setup)
     
  7. Zap

    Zap

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!

    Some additional clarifications:
    • If a script bot I own is marked hidden, can I still see/use it?
    • What is the currently preferred way to share a script bot with a small group of collaborators/testers/etc.?
     
  8. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    • Yes, if you're using it locally. No, you can't use it after pushing it to the Bot Store.
    • Making it private and PM me the name of users you would like to grant access to. I will do it manually until a front-end for private bots is developed.
     
    Qosmiof2 likes this.
  9. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    682
    And by making it private he means <access>private</access>
     
  10. Vichy

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'm really new to this, where would I place the manifest file :?
    Tried putting it in the output folder of my test project, but it doesn't show up on the available bots :/
     
  11. Savior

    Savior I GOT I GOT I GOT I GOT

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    You can place it anywhere in your project
     
  12. Zasz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    52
    @Cloud Any ETA on the private end? Its easier so I can test on my VPS as well.
     
  13. Cloud

    Cloud Just another one...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    795
    That's actually @Arbiter's domain
     
  14. Zasz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    52
    Good to know!
     
  15. SlashnHax

    SlashnHax The Chosen One

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    861
    Push/pull from SVN or just transfer the compiled classes? For your VPS, not private users xD
     
  16. Zasz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    52
    If it comes down to it lol, I like the easy ways first for the most part. And the feature is always good to have
     
  17. SlashnHax

    SlashnHax The Chosen One

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    861
    Yeah, I was just listing current alternatives haha
     
  18. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    Private is fully implemented. There is just no front-end to allow you to grant access. Just PM me which bot and to who to assign it and I'd be happy to in the interim.
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 6, 2015, Original Post Date: Jun 27, 2015 ---
    @Cloud please specify the options for the access setting.
     
  19. Range inc

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    Put RS3 for DarkScape. All methods should be fully compatible.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Loading...