Problems loading the client

Discussion in 'Client & Site Support' started by DeadlyLazy, Dec 11, 2014.

  1. DeadlyLazy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    Running the jar file with java doesn't load the client, but in task manager java is there but with a really low amount of memory (like 15K, which is odd considering other clients use like 600K when loaded).

    No errors to give, Defeat3d told me to report it
     
  2. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,006
    Likes Received:
    591
    Which operating system are you running? what version of java are you running it with? Open cmd and type java -version and paste the output here
     
  3. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    486
    Windows something, version 8 update 25
     
  4. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,006
    Likes Received:
    591
  5. DeadlyLazy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    vista (yes it's shit), 8 soonTM
     
  6. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    729
    Has this only recently started happening?
     
  7. DeadlyLazy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    It's happened since about a month or so ago but I hadn't thought about reporting it, it's weird because I also had the same problem with Orion (back when it was called Orion) but it doesn't do that anymore
     
  8. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    729
    Does anything appear in the console when your run it?
     
  9. DeadlyLazy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    Console? It doesn't visually load, the only thing that shows signs of it loading is Task Manager where it is at an extremely low (and constant) amount of memory
     
  10. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    729
    Run it from the command prompt and let me know if there are any errors.
     
  11. Exia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    236
    Are you running the jar as admin? Because this is what mine does when I don't run as admin.
     
  12. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    729
    Really? That's interesting, can you provide more information about that?
     
  13. DeadlyLazy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    If I can find out how I'll do that ASAP :)
    I don't have the option to run a jar file as an admin.
     
  14. Exia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    236
    I think it's just because I run it off the D drive and it can't get write perms for C drive since that is where the scripts bots folder is. The blue load circle pops up, hits 30% then closes and there is an idle java process. When I run my dev_launch.bat as admin it works though.

    Right click and run as admin. Otherwise, make a bat file that contains "java -jar ./Runemate.jar" right next to the jar and run that as admin.
     
  15. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,300
    Likes Received:
    729
    It sounds like it's trying to update but then it gets rejected access to the temporary folder, could you do some experiments and find out more information for me?
     
  16. DeadlyLazy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trying to run it via CMD gave this error: http://puu.sh/dqtZS/dbaa9f96b2.png
     
  17. Exia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    236
    Sure, I know it prints out some access denied if I put a pause after it. I'll try it out tonight.

    Do you have multiple version of java installed?
     
  18. DeadlyLazy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    I've only got 8 U 25 and SE Dev kit 7 U 65
     
  19. Exia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    236
  20. DeadlyLazy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24

Share This Page

Loading...