Resolved Runemate won't open on Windows XP 2002

Discussion in 'Client & Site Support' started by befored, Oct 3, 2015.

  1. befored

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Like, you double click it and nothing happens.. at all.
     
  2. Microsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    87
  3. befored

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
  4. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,525
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    While RuneMate *should* run just fine on Windows XP with Java 8, neither Oracle (Java) nor us (RuneMate) supports it.
     
  5. Microsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    87
    My problem solver doesn't reboot your computer automatically, it will ask you.
    Make sure your using the first option as I mentioned before.
    --- Double Post Merged, Oct 3, 2015, Original Post Date: Oct 3, 2015 ---
    Apparently, its still possible :p
    https://blogs.oracle.com/henrik/entry/the_future_of_java_on
     
  6. befored

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeaaaaaaah.. I hit "1" instead of "0"..
     
  7. Microsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    87
    Haha, not a problem buddy.
    Simply reinstall Java, and the problem might even resolve itself.
    If not, use option 0 :p
     
  8. befored

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Did everything but still no results. I double click the client but nothing happens; I have Java 8, I used your option 0 thing and other jars can run :l
     
  9. Microsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    87
    Try running this program as admin: http://johann.loefflmann.net/en/software/jarfix/index.html

    PS: Also check if your Antivirus is blocking access ;)
     
  10. befored

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    ..nope *sniffles*

    edit: When trying to delete RuneMate, it claims it's already open, and checking the task manager I see it's using 24000kb of mem -- but I don't see it anywhere
     
  11. Microsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    87
    Do you want me to teamview you ?
    I'll bbl in like an hour.
     
  12. befored

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    I might not be here in an hour, but if I am, sure :D
     
  13. Falixus

    Falixus Guest

    Make sure you uninstall any old versions of Java, also.
     
  14. Microsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    87
    I can do it now actually ;)
    Sent me a private message with your Teamviewer ID and PASS.
    --- Double Post Merged, Oct 3, 2015, Original Post Date: Oct 3, 2015 ---
    UPDATE: I tried to fix it, but couldn't.
    His Windows XP is not fully supported anymore by Java, and 99,9% sure thats the issue.
    Here are some things that I've tried to resolve his problem:
    1. Uninstalling all Java including leftovers using JavaRa
    2. Reinstalling latest Java
    3. Install Java SDK
    4. Manually added the Environment Variables in Windows XP
    5. Run RuneMate using a batch file with several options
    6. Converting my RuneMate to exe, and including the com.runemate.boot class
    This is everything I could think of, but unfortunately it didn't help.
    Like I said, I'm 99,99999999% sure It's his outdated OS.
     
  15. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,378
    Likes Received:
    781
    What type of error occurs in the command line when you run it through there?
     
  16. vipertrek79

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    74
    Out of curiosity, why in the world are you still running Windows xp? ( not being aggressive, I just truly want to know <3 )
     
  17. befored

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't know what this means and

    The updater never worked
     
  18. vipertrek79

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    74
    If you have half decent hardware, you should try to get on at least windows 7 :D If you want to of course.
     
    Microsoft likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...