Setting up RuneMate with Geany

Discussion in 'Developer Support' started by Einstein, Mar 13, 2015.

  1. Einstein

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I just switched to Ubuntu and I cant find out how to import the RuneMate directories. Any help would be appreciated. I'm using Geany as my IDE.

    Never mind, I found the Eclipse download my bad!
     
  2. Viewer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    72
    Ugh I seriously recommend you to try installing Eclipse IDE instead, we are more used to it, not sure if you'll get an effective answer for that IDE
     
  3. Einstein

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I wasn't sure if they had it or not. I found it though thanks for the reply.
     
  4. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    dog_ likes this.
  5. Einstein

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm more familiar with eclipse, but now I've run into another problem I forgot Linux doesn't use batch commands. Now I have to completely relearn bash scripting. Any commands with bash that will open RuneMate in dev mode?
     
  6. Philosobyte

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    78
    ^^ If you don't get a reply about bash, keep in mind that you can create a Run configuration in Eclipse that accomplishes the same thing, as long as you run the program from Eclipse.
    edit: If you've never set one up before, the setup will be similar to the setup shown in RuneMate's IntelliJ setup tutorial.
     
  7. Einstein

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol, thank you I forgot I could just add an argument.
     
  8. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    The bash command would be identical to the batch as it's just invoking the same (in essence) java executable with arguments. :p
     
  9. PhaseCoder

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    26
    Don't do eclipse, eclipse gives programmers aids :(

    IntelliJ cures aids go go go....
     
  10. Philosobyte

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    78
    I agree that IntelliJ is the superior IDE and that the switch from Eclipse to IntelliJ was worth it, if frustratingly confusing at first.
     
  11. Geashaw

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    191
    IntellIJ is lovely, just like PHPStorm, those are the big brothers of Eclipse & Netbeans.
     
    Arbiter likes this.
  12. bytecodes

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    I personally would always use Intellij for the superior indexing and the autocompletion built into it can be a life saver. If you're a student you can get a free professional copy
     
  13. Philosobyte

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    78
    Only for post-secondary level students, not high school, afaik.
     
  14. bytecodes

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    Oh, I'm not sure because I'm post high school haha. I know one of my friends who attends college gets it. I think you just need an academic email.
     

Share This Page

Loading...