Suggestion Update notification

Discussion in 'Client & Site Suggestions' started by Aidden, Aug 16, 2014.

  1. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    647
    I think it would be a good idea to have the client show something to say that the client is updating so that newer users don't think it's crashing.

    @Cloud @Arbiter
     
  2. Viewer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    72
    Actually it shows but it is pretty fast so it is hard to see it
     
  3. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,035
    This. Basically if you have a slow connection you will see the loading screen informing you that it is downloading instead of crashed.
     
  4. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    647
    Lol well it would probably be a good idea to either make it stay on screen longer or make a separate window show until the client loads back up
     
  5. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,035
    Pretty sure it does exactly what you're asking for, but I may be misunderstanding. Can you explain again in full detail what scenario you're talking about? @Cloud tag to confirm.
     
  6. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    647
    When there's a client update, all i see is it loads to 30% then closes, nothing to show that it's updating. When it's finished downloading the update the client restarts seemingly out of nowhere
     
  7. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    647
    You're right, it does say it's updating, but it's not even visible for half a second before it disappears. I only saw it because i was looking for it.
     
  8. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    1,035
    @Cloud any brilliant idea to resolve this UX issue?
     
  9. frazboyz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    55
    Just have it stay open for a few seconds after the update is finished.
     
  10. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    754
    It's not possible because the way the client updates is a multi process solution that involves process replacement.
    I have one idea but it may not be as reliable as we need.
     
  11. Falixus

    Falixus Guest

    Perhaps an option at the top of the forums or/and on the homepage that says online/offline for the client.
     

Share This Page

Loading...