Who wants to help me verify the source of the memory leak?

Discussion in 'Discussions' started by Cloud, Nov 10, 2014.

  1. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    758
    Hey guys, after spending dozens of hours optimizing RuneMate's cpu and memory usage I need your help. I've come to the conclusion that the leak isn't occurring in java and is instead occurring over JNI. It's good because it means that I'm one step closer to fixing the issue, however it's bad because it's a pain to verify and fix the issue. So, here's what I need from you guys.
    1. I need someone to verify that the leak happens on RS3 only.
    2. I need someone to play RS3 legit for at least an hour within RuneMate and monitor the memory usage. I'm expecting the leak to not occur. Please note that running a script bot or opening the development toolkit will ruin the test and require it to be done again.

    I don't care who does it, or how many people do it, but the more information you guys can get me the better off we'll be. Thanks guys.
     
  2. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,522
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Putting a bounty of free Supporter for 2 weeks for each task. :D
     
  3. Ozzy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    159
    @Cloud @Arbiter I don't have a 2007 account but I'll try and get you some info for #2.
     
  4. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    758
    Perfect, please post your results :)
     
  5. Viewer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    72
    So I played legit for 1 hour without opening developer toolkit or running any script bot and registered ram usage every 5 minutes, here are the results:

    [21:35] Loading game 342,4mb
    [21:36] Game loaded 370mb
    [21:41] 535,7mb
    [21:46] 513,0mb
    [21:51] 518,8mb
    [21:56] 533,5mb
    [22:01] 533,0mb
    [22:06] 542,2mb
    [22:11] 549,4mb
    [22:16] 548,7mb
    [22:21] 882,4mb
    [22:26] 881,4mb
    [22:31] 814,1mb
    [22:36] 808,7mb

    Average ram usage 598mb
    Max CPU usage was 42%
     
  6. Viewer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trained combat on same spot all the time
     
  7. Ozzy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    159
    @Cloud @Arbiter

    I managed to get hold of a 2007 account and so I've got some info on both points:

    2007 Client RAM Usage (With a script bot running whilst I played RS3 legit on a separate PC):
    Start: 983mb
    1 hour later: 994mb

    RS3 Client RAM Usage (Playing legit):

    Start: 971mb
    1 hour later: 1067mb (Fluctuated over time, never going over 1100mb however)

    RS3 CPU/RAM Screenshots:

    Start:

    [​IMG]

    End:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,522
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    These reports are confirming our suspicions. Thank you guys so much for taking the initiative! Supporter coming right up for all. :D
     
    Ozzy likes this.
  9. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,522
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Gonna need a little more information regarding this. Which bot did you run specifically? How long did you run it for? What were your RAM and CPU usage before you began and then what were they right before crash?
     
  10. Ozzy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    159
    @Cloud @Arbiter

    I left an 07 script bot running overnight with an initial memory usage of ~990mb, it ran for at least an hour at this and so I assumed all was well and went to sleep. After running for around 5 hours, the exception below occurred and the script bot was stopped when the client was using ~1720mb of memory.

    Hopefully this is of some use to you :)

    Code (Text):
    1. (02:56:59) Failed to extend session... (474 seconds remaining)
    2. Exception in thread "Bot-TestSlayer" (02:57:27) java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: GC overhead limit exceeded
    3. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.GP.null(xob:560)
    4. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.GP.null(xob:1419)
    5. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.pp.break(apb:110)
    6. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.fO.null(rwb:153)
    7. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:117)
    8. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    9. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    10. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    11. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    12. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    13. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    14. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    15. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    16. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    17. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    18. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    19. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    20. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    21. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    22. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    23. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    24. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    25. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    26. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    27. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    28. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    29. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    30. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    31. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    32. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    33. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
    34. (02:57:27)     at com.runemate.oN.null(qnb:72)
     
  11. Ozzy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    159
    Cloud has explained the reason for this on your profile here, he's making changes which have resulted in this being the case, it's probably for the best though so just wait up and you'll be botting again soon.
     
    EvilCabbage likes this.
  12. Skayra

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    I noticed the performance issue. When I run RM bot on VM, its client always laggs and RS3 crashes after starting a script bot while logged in (although, this doesn't happen when I use RSBot).
    I guess giving more 1 GB RAM or spare a little more of my processor to the VM fixes the problem anyway...
     

Share This Page

Loading...