CPU Usage

Discussion in 'Client & Site Support' started by Loki987, Nov 6, 2014.

  1. Loki987

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Why does runemate use more cpu than most other bots?
     
  2. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Prime Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    565
    Can you specify what script bot(s) you're running? I haven't noticed it personally, please provide some stats.
     
  3. Loki987

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just the client in general uses more cpu that all the others imo
     
  4. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Prime Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    565
  5. Cloud

    Cloud Just another one...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    795
    We use reflection, which is slightly slower than injection but theoretically safer. On top of that, our projection code is crazy intense because we try to calculate when interfaces overlay points and it requires ALOT of calculations. RSBot does something similar, however there's is static and requires manually updating if the slightest change occurs in the game, while ours is done completely dynamically and thus uses up more cpu cycles trying to determine what is what.
     
    Defeat3d likes this.
  6. Loki987

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the reply, i understand now :)
     
  7. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    It could also be bot-specific. If you experience more CPU drain on some bots than others contact the developer and I'm sure they would be happy to investigate.
     
    Defeat3d likes this.
  8. Cloud

    Cloud Just another one...

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    795
    In the next release I'm going to make a small change that will hopefully speed up it's calculations in some situations (especially when the developer is painting tiles or objects onto the screen)
     
    Loki987 and Defeat3d like this.
  9. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Prime Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    565
    My chinchompa hunter likes this post.
     
  10. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Prime Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    565
    Uninstall all current java versions and get the latest jre8.
     
  11. Ozzy

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    159
    Do you have any additional info which could help the developers out such as an error message or info about where you are logging into?
     
  12. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,393
    Likes Received:
    682
    You were probably running with JDK instead of JRE.
     

Share This Page

Loading...