Resolved Login Handler Broken

Discussion in 'Client & Site Support' started by Aidden, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    665
    Enters username and password in the username field
     
  2. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    @Cloud sounds game-breaking.
     
  3. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,329
    Likes Received:
    757
    OSRS or RS3?
     
  4. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    665
    Rs3, haven't tested osrs
     
  5. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    665
    @Cloud Did you attempt to fix this? It seems to be working now which is weird if you didn't because i tested it multiple times. OSRS is also working fine.
     
  6. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    665
    @Cloud Still experiencing some issues with this. It doesn't seem to wait long enough between clicking password and typing it so sometimes it'll type part of the password in the username field
     
  7. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,329
    Likes Received:
    757
    Some updates to this are coming in the next update.
     
  8. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    665
    Sounds good :)
     
  9. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    665
    Still having an issue with this. It sometimes enters the first letter of the password at the end of the username (Only tested rs3).
    @Cloud
     
  10. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,329
    Likes Received:
    757
    I've added a small delay after the click so that should resolve the issue.
     
  11. Aidden

    Aidden The better executive ;)

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,287
    Likes Received:
    665
    Thanks. Also just as a note, you can press enter to both change from username field to password and send the login request
     
  12. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I do not think that is the right solution. The LoginHandler should be more fault tolerant and validate entries. Any amount of delay could be proven useless with enough resource throttling. I suggest rule based validation before login submission (making sure the username field text matches the desired username, making sure the password field length matches the desired password, etc.). Additionally, it should have error handling based on failed validation and server response (username deletion and re-entry on failed validation, password re-entry on failed server authentication, bot stop on X failed attempts, etc.).

    P.S. My suggestion for X is 3, to prevent repeated failed server authentication from locking a user. I believe Jagex's limit for number of attempts is 5 per 5 minutes.
     
  13. Cloud

    Cloud The Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,329
    Likes Received:
    757
    The username and password field are both checked before it clicks login as it is.
     

Share This Page

Loading...