Rejected Multiple Clients

Discussion in 'Client & Site Suggestions' started by Neospacian, Jul 19, 2014.

  1. Neospacian

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    8
    I would love the ability to run multiple clients off of one open client. Like having multiple tabs running on the same open RuneMate.

    Once RuneMate takes off and we have a huge influx of members and scripters I would love to be able to run 3 seperate clients, one that is running my 5 Runespan Accounts, one that is running my 5 Combat Accounts, and one that is running my 5 Runecrafters. Would definently help with my OCD/Organization haha.
     
  2. Black Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7
    With the way the current API is, that would cause problems in the future. If we had a non static API, that would have been possible, however, since our API is static, each new tab is basically a new game window.
     
  3. Neospacian

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    8
  4. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Not quite true. All @Neospacian is asking for is tabs for purely organizational sake, which is definitely feasible with a little hacking. In fact you'd even get a slight performance gain. Correct me if I'm wrong @Cloud.
     
  5. Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    929
    Multiple tabs within the client is not going to be implemented because it adds complications when utilizing a static API. Of course it is possible, but then thread management becomes something that needs to be considered when preparing a script bot, and then there is the biggest problem which is the fact that all GUI's share a single thread within java so if multiple script bot GUIs are all calling the API at once there is no way to figure out which environment to provide the data from.
     
    Black Fire likes this.
  6. Black Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7
    BASED CLOUD AGREES WITH ME!!!!!! WOOOOOOOOO
     
  7. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,560
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Thus the "with a little hacking" condition. I'm going to push back, but we'll save that for another day in the post-public release future. :p
     
  8. Ian C

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Run each new tab in it's own JVM. Problem solved.
     
  9. Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    929
    I mentioned that to Arbiter yesterday but it introduces it's own set of management problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...