Resolved OSRS NPC dismisser

Discussion in 'Client & Site Support' started by Derk, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. Derk

    Derk 12 year old normie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    761
    After the NPC has dismissed, the overlay of the NPC dismisser (red flashing screen) doesn't disappear.
     
  2. Arbiter

    Arbiter Mod Automation

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    1,098
  3. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Prime Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    615
    Not the case for me.
     
  4. Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    931
    Also unable to reproduce.
     
  5. Derk

    Derk 12 year old normie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    761
    Another clue might be that if I close the bot (and thus the NPC dismisser), and restart the bot the NPC dismisser will come back. It only solves itself when you relog.

    And it doesn't happen all the time, it happened twice for me so I guess one in 10 NPCs it happens. @Defeat3d
     
  6. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Prime Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    615
    I've been running OSRS for 10+ hours a day, have never had it happen to me.
     
  7. Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    931
    It sounds like it's validating when you think it shouldn't be. Here's the relevant code snippet:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. @Override
    3. public boolean isValid() {
    4. Player local = Players.getLocal();
    5. return local != null && (random = Npcs.newQuery().visible().actions("Dismiss").targeting(local).reachable().results().nearestTo(local)) != null;
    6. }
    7.  
    Let me know if you see an issue with it.
     
  8. Derk

    Derk 12 year old normie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    761
    Well I can only assume there's another NPC that has the dismiss option to it anywhere close to me but that doesn't really make sense in my case where the issue resolved itself after relogging.

    I'll check back in if it happens again, I'll father devkit information if possible if an NPC wasn't unloaded somehow.
     
  9. Vichy

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    As far as I'm aware, it's a way of Jagex to trick bots.
     
  10. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Prime Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    615
    Nope, it only queries for NPC's targeting you. :p
     
  11. Derk

    Derk 12 year old normie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    761
    If you accidentally missclick an NPC that has the dismiss option it could happen. Not sure if that ever occurs though.
     
  12. Defeat3d

    Defeat3d Prime Celestial

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    615
    I think the NPC will continue to target the guy it came for, not 100% sure about this though.
     
  13. trinica fey

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have run into this a few times too, closing and reopening RM seemed to be the only solution also have had it with the "login thingy"
     
  14. Derk

    Derk 12 year old normie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    761
    Seems like the problem lays with the random handler then. @Cloud I don't really know anything about the handler, can you confirm that the handler MIGHT get stuck occasionally?
     
  15. Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    931
    To clarify, does this prevent the active bot from running?
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 19, 2015, Original Post Date: Sep 19, 2015 ---
    Also, does the event processor continue to become more and then less red when it's stuck like that?
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 19, 2015 ---
    Also, what OS are you guys using when experiencing this?
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 19, 2015 ---
    And finally, are you sure it's OSRS only or has anyone experienced it on RS3?
     
  16. Derk

    Derk 12 year old normie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,085
    Likes Received:
    761
    1. Yes it does stop the bot from running.
    2. Yes, it flashes if that is what you mean?
    3. Win 10.
    4. Both, I've had the dead handler stuck too on RS3. I don't know if that's caused by the same thing though.
     
  17. Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    931
    Is it reproducable with any type of consistency?
     

Share This Page

Loading...