1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tutorial Setting up IntelliJ 2023/2024

Discussion in 'Tutorials & Resources' started by Bing Bong, Nov 20, 2023.

  1. Bing Bong

    Bing Bong Bot Author

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    103
    This is an extension from Tutorial - [2022] Setting up IntelliJ

    To see when and what was the last update from this guide look into the comment section.
    • Either click here or search IntelliJ on Google in order to download IntelliJ. On the download page, select the Community Edition.

    • When the IntelliJ download is finished, you can go ahead and install it - no special configuration is needed here.

    • The "Customize IDE" screen will show up. Select any options you want, or alternatively, click "Skip All and Set Defaults"

    • Select "Create New Project"

    • In the "New project" window, you'll need to pick the project SDK.
      1. Click on the project SDK bar and select the option "Download JDK".
      2. In the "Download JDK" window, click on the vendor bar and select "Oracle OpenJDK" OR "JetBrains Runtime".
      3. Click on the version bar and select "17.0.0" (or upwards) then click the download button.
      4. Click "Next", and keep doing so until you reach the "Project name" textbox. I called my project Runemate, but you can call it whatever you want
    upload_2023-11-20_13-27-27.png
    • Press "Ctrl+Alt+Shift+S" to open the project structure.
      1. In project setting select "Modules".
      2. Click on the "Dependencies" tab.
      3. On the left side of the panel click the + button and select "JARs or directories"
      4. With RuneMate installed you can find the dependencies under
    Code (Text):
    1. C:\Program Files\RuneMate\RuneMate.jar
    2. C:\Users\%user%\RuneMate\resources\runemate-game-api.jar
    You can use the Standalone but you will need to manually update the dependencies.
    5. Click on the "OK" button.

    • On the main IntelliJ window, select Run → Edit Configurations.

    • On the dialogue which appears, click the "+" button, and select "Jar Application"
      1. In the "Name" field choose the name you want. Mine is "Launch".
    Discord - A New Way to Chat with Friends & Communities

    3. In the "Program arguments" field copy and paste.

    Code (Text):
    1. --dev
    4. In the "Environment variables" field. Replace Username to your username and Password to your password.

    Code (Text):
    1. RUNEMATE_USERNAME=Username; RUNEMATE_PASSWORD=Password
    • 5. Click the "OK" button.

    • If the project sidebar is not open press "Alt+1".
      1. Right click the "src" folder → New → Package
      2. Name your package as follow "com.username.scripts" (Replace "username" by your username)
      3. Right click the project bar then Compact Middle Packages.

    You're all set to go ahead and start creating your own bot! Best of luck.
     
    #1 Bing Bong, Nov 20, 2023
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2023
  2. American Express

    American Express RuneMate Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,112
    It's my time to shine.
     
    Bing Bong likes this.
  3. P3rson101

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    This guy is a pro and helped me out when I was having issues to find out I was using java 21 not 17 lol..
     
  4. TYG123

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2023
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has IntelliJ been changed since this guide was made? I'm confused because I'm not seeing the same options on the New Project (but I think I figured that out by editing it afterwards)
    And on Edit Run Configuration I don't see a main class field
    upload_2023-12-3_22-46-17.png
     
  5. Bing Bong

    Bing Bong Bot Author

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    103
    Yes IntelliJ has been updated, once you've set the run configurations, go to the edit by following this GIF.

    https://i.gyazo.com/dca617b17b8afea4f2a812d4c41b6316.gif
     
  6. TYG123

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2023
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see the difference now, in the tutorial it says to select "JAR Application", while in your gif you're on "Application"
     
  7. Bing Bong

    Bing Bong Bot Author

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    103
    Edited and fixed :)
    --- Double Post Merged, Dec 4, 2023, Original Post Date: Dec 4, 2023 ---
    Infact, no Jar Application is correct. The "Application" is the old method before RM upgraded to J17.
     
  8. TYG123

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2023
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then that goes back to my original question, there's no Main Class field under Jar Application. Do we just set the Jar Path like I did in my screenshot?
     
  9. Bing Bong

    Bing Bong Bot Author

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    103
    Doesn't look like you do, I don't have it in my method, I'll re-update the thread.
     
  10. SabersExcalibur

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2023
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    #10 SabersExcalibur, Dec 25, 2023
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2023
    Bing Bong likes this.
  11. FrostyGhost

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    7
    Edited

    I have managed to get this set up and log into the Development kit, but now my test bot does not appear in the list.
    [​IMG]
     
    #11 FrostyGhost, Jan 11, 2024
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2024
  12. TYG123

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2023
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    set local bot directory in RuneMate preferences
     
  13. FrostyGhost

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    7
    THIS!

    Thanks :D
     
  14. dmm_jr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can't get any of my local scripts bots to appear in the client. I have my directory set within the RuneMate settings already.

    Code (Text):
    1. "C:\Program Files\Java\jdk-17\bin\java.exe" -Dfile.encoding=windows-1252 -jar "C:\Program Files\RuneMate\RuneMate.jar" --dev
    2. WARNING: sun.reflect.Reflection.getCallerClass is not supported. This will impact performance.
    3. Apr 10, 2024 11:50:06 PM com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl startup
    4. WARNING: Unsupported JavaFX configuration: classes were loaded from 'unnamed module @df27fae'
    5. 23:50:07 [TRACE] [            RuneMate] Initializing JavaFX Platform
    6. 23:50:07 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Deleted 0 files over a week old
    7. 23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate] RuneMate Version: 3.14.15
    8. 23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate] Operating System: Windows 11 amd64
    9. 23:50:07 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] JAVA ENVIRONMENT:
    10. 23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate]    Home: C:\Program Files\Java\jdk-17
    11. 23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate]    Version: 17.0.10 x64 (Oracle Corporation)
    12. 23:50:07 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate]    Max. Heap: 8176MB
    13. 23:50:08 [TRACE] [            RuneMate] Identified manifest and main class of Test Script
    14. 23:50:08 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Detected 1 manifests and 1 unique content roots
    15. 23:50:08 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Detected 0 classes and 2 resources
    16. 23:50:08 [WARN ] [            RuneMate] Error loading main class of com.USERNAME.scripts.test
    17. java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.USERNAME.scripts.test
    18.    at java.lang.ClassLoader.findClass(ClassLoader.java:718) ~[?:?]
    19.    at nul.IiIiIIiiiIiiII.findClass(vt:248) ~[RuneMate.jar:?]
    20.    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:587) ~[?:?]
    21.    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:520) ~[?:?]
    22.    at nul.iIIiIIiiiiiIii.IIIIIIiiiiIiii(mp:216) ~[RuneMate.jar:?]
    23.    at nul.iiiIIIiiiIiIII.iIiiIiiiiiIIIi(ms:786) ~[RuneMate.jar:?]
    24.    at java.util.concurrent.CompletableFuture$AsyncSupply.run(CompletableFuture.java:1768) ~[?:?]
    25.    at java.util.concurrent.CompletableFuture$AsyncSupply.exec(CompletableFuture.java:1760) ~[?:?]
    26.    at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinTask.doExec(ForkJoinTask.java:373) ~[?:?]
    27.    at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinPool$WorkQueue.topLevelExec(ForkJoinPool.java:1182) ~[?:?]
    28.    at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinPool.scan(ForkJoinPool.java:1655) ~[?:?]
    29.    at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinPool.runWorker(ForkJoinPool.java:1622) ~[?:?]
    30.    at java.util.concurrent.ForkJoinWorkerThread.run(ForkJoinWorkerThread.java:165) ~[?:?]
    31. 23:50:09 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate] Required x86 JDK resource exists - skipping download.
    32. 23:50:09 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Detected 1 manifests and 1 unique content roots
    33. 23:50:09 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Detected 0 classes and 2 resources
    34. 23:50:09 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] Successfully downloaded missing resources
    35. 23:50:10 [INFO ] [            RuneMate] State of runelite_patch_state is 0
    36. 23:50:10 [DEBUG] [            RuneMate] RuneLite launcher has already been patched
    I'm also seeing lots of errors in the test scripts bots I'm trying to boot up. For in stance, it can't seem to be finding lombok - even though it is clearly installed as a plugin in ItelliJ.
     
    #14 dmm_jr, Apr 10, 2024
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2024

Share This Page

Loading...